Spy Watch : Is Your Computer Protected?


 

 

photo - webpage

WTF my view online

I am running another scan on my “old, outdated, nearly obsolete computer. I haven’t been downloading much since the big adware thing hit me. I’m not sure that anyone is safe out there. Which security systems should you use?

I am told over and over, by marketers and the likes, ” don’t use free anti-virus or security programs”, as they’re not safe. The impression is free programs are substandard, or a diluted version of the real thing. I believe both views are correct in some cases…..

I have bought different programs such as Symantec and McAfee in the past, and wondered if those programs were actually worthwhile. They pretended to do the jobs they were supposed to do, but when it came time to renew the subscription, all of a sudden the computer is infected and full of viruses and trojans and worms etc.

Chances are the various programs do, what they’re promising to do and only give that hype to get you to buy that service again. If that’s the case I don’t need that kind of pressure on my mind. But….

I did a scan with Trend Micro Housecall and that program found 10 or 12 bad problems. I deleted them of course only to have my pc acting up again as soon as I went on-line. So I scanned the computer again and was notified everything was clean.

Not knowing any better I figured everything was fine, and proceeded to go on-line and had the same problems all over again. It got so bad with, slowness, hyper-links that shouldn’t be there, pop-up ads, and a computer tech program slamming into my browsing experience.

I called the number and got a tech to look at my machine. I’ll relate that tale later, but for now I’ll tell you the end result of his findings. He poked around and showed me how I had 21000 error messages, and showed me some adware stuff in the files. He did not fix the problem, but told me I could buy something that would fix it and said it would cost me about $500 to be right with the net again.

I got it all fixed sort of, meaning now it’s an ongoing task to kill the beasts that got me. I did what my previous article said and spent 4 1/2 hours cleaning the system. And I did that with a free system, although I will send Malwarebytes a donation.

Here is that link again for those who think they need it. http://malwaretips.com/blogs/remove-coolsalecoupon-virus/

Leave a Reply

