Church Of The Good Shepherd


Dubie Bacino
Built in 1935, this is one of the most iconic and photographed church in New Zealand. Inside, the church’s altar window was purposely designed to frame the lake backed by the majestic snow capped mountains. Never have I seen beauty such as this.

Taken during our autumn 2014 photo safari, the clouds just lit up like fire and the photographers were buzzing around like crazy. Was lucky to position my self all alone on the opposite side, shot a few frames with different exposures and blended it together to showcase a well balanced light.

Sometimes a photo is just not enough to show you how beautiful a place is. – Patrick Marson Ong

www.facebook.com/patrickmarsonong

photo  Church Of  The Good Shepherd

Church Of The Good Shepherd

 

 

#newzealand #church #laketekapo

Dubie Bacino’s photos Church Of The Good Shepherd

Open Letter to Photographers on Google+

Most of you know me for sharing beautiful photographs. I am writing as there is something that’s been on my mind for some time now, the sensitive issue of Copyright Infringement – and I would really appreciate your feedback on this matter.

Crediting respective photographers is something I take very seriously. That was one of the main reasons I started posting photographs, to try to set some kind of example and standard for sharing images via social media. I am happy with the success I’ve had, since I have a large following of photographers themselves who often send me their work and ask me to share it. I have more than 100K followers on Google+, 50K followers on Twitter, and 25K subscribers on Facebook. Most of my posts go viral.

I do not use my social media stream to post commercial content, or to sell anything to anyone. I never claim to be a photographer and I always credit the respective photographers and provide the link to their website.

In my personal experience, photographers are generally happy to have their work exposed to a bigger audience as long as they are properly credited. Unfortunately, the copyright laws on social media are very loosely defined, and the last thing I’d want is to be accused of copyright infringement.

I don’t want to waste my time promoting photographers who don’t want to be promoted. And more importantly, I don’t want to offend anyone with my actions. I understand that an artist bares their soul when publishing to the world, and I also understand that a work of art can only gain value with more exposure. But in the end, there is such a fine line on the internet between promoting work and copyright. It would appear that even crediting all photographers there could always be someone who has a personal problem with how their work is promoted.

I am hoping to initiate a discussion on this subject as I would really like your opinion on how you perceive the work that I have put into this hobby. Let me know whether you want me to share your photographs or not.

 

5 thoughts on “Church Of The Good Shepherd

  1. Those people should have been grateful that somebody even cares and appreciates his or her works by spreading them to a wider audience as long as they are credited. This just shows how narrow-minded some people can be.

    In my opinion, the issue of copyrights is becoming stupider and stupider as time goes by. There are so many cases constantly on the news that portray how ridiculous those copyright owners can get.

    Btw. I personally think that what you are doing is cool since you can provide those photographers a good medium to share their works with us.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

