Google Data tools – Download your data!


Here is another useful piece of information.  Just like keeping a back-up copy of important data, you may want to keep a second copy of all of your personal data, where you can access it at a moments notice.  If the internet went down, and you needed your information in a hurry, hoe would you access it?

Put your data on a dvd, or a set of them, and tuck them away in your file boxes or safe, just in case.

John Skeats
Shared publicly8:36 AM

Think About Removing Your Data from a Service Before You Need to

Most people don’t give a thought to whether they would be able to export their personal content from online services until they need to because they want to change services or whatever. Unfortunately, they often find that the service providers have put up walls presumably to lock people in by making it difficult or impossible to export your content.

Google believes you own your content. They honor that by providing tools that allow you to export your content easily, at no cost, and in a standard format that can be used elsewhere.

h/t +Google+ Top Contributors

Google+ Top Contributors originally shared:

Google Data tools – Download your data

Your account, your data.
Download a copy.

Create an archive with your data from Google products:

Choose the Google products to include in your archive and configure the settings for each product. This archive will only be accessible to you.

It’s important that you can access your Google data when you want it, where you want it – whether is it to import it into another service or just create your own copy for your archives.

People usually don’t look to see if they can get their data out of a product until they decide that they want to leave. For this reason, we always encourage you to ask these three questions before starting to use a product that will store your data:

★ Can I get my data out in an open, interoperable, portable format?
★ How much is it going to cost to get my data out?
★ How much of my time is it going to take to get my data out?

The ideal answers to these questions are:

✫ Yes.
✫ Nothing more than I’m already paying.
✫ As little as possible.

There shouldn’t be an additional charge to export your data. Beyond that, if it takes you weeks to get your data, it’s almost as bad as not being able to get your data out at all.

https://support.google.com/accounts/answer/3024190?utm_content=buffer5410f&utm_medium=social&utm_source=plus.google.com&utm_campaign=buffer

Learn more from Google: http://bit.ly/1MH8L9J

Click through to the Takeout: http://bit.ly/1bdw1i1

#Google #Takeout #Photos #Maps #TCpost

9 thoughts on “Google Data tools – Download your data!

  1. Haha, I don’t rely to the internet for “keeping” my data. I’m a “backup freak” anyway (if there’s such a term) and I keep at least 4 backups of my files on different locations…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reminds me of Snapfish years ago… Originally I could download the digital photos I already PAID them to develop from film, but then suddenly I couldn’t without buying it on CD (changed their policies without warning – gotta love the fine print). So fine, I wanted a number of my photos in digital form where I could access them, and then I just wouldn’t use Snapfish anymore… They actually LOST the data to my photos! I could view them online but couldn’t download or copy them and couldn’t order them. …worst experience with digital info I’ve ever had.
    Now I always make sure I have access to whatever I put out there, never pay for someone else to have the *privilege* of saving it for me, and copy, copy, copy… It can be annoying at times (relevant naming files helps) but so worth the effort for anything actually important. I have a copy on whatever device I’m using (usually means at least 2 hard drive copies), copy on Gdrive, Dropbox or whatever needed for sharing (Between devices or people), and copy on a flash drive in case internet isn’t working for share *and* disconnected copy from everything in case of virus. So far so good.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

